jump.tf Forums
Welcome B)

Tier grading system

uaa · 4 · 459

uaa

• Frags: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Hello,

So I have been jumping on and off since ~2012. I know this is an old game - but I was thinking about map tiers or let's say - jump map grading system.

*current grading system*
Basically jump maps are graded between t1 and t6 - t1 being the easiest, t6 being the hardest (t0 excluded). It means that the grading scale is close ended - ie. on tempus network there are no maps harder than t6 - even if those t6's vary in difficulty. For example demo t3 jump_noob is really different in terms of difficulty than demo t3 jump_ninjacookie.

Hypothetically lets think of a new map that is extremely difficult, more difficult than current t6 maps - it would still be rated as t6 because this is the end of a scale - in my opinion that would not be fair to the players that completed this map as it would be worth the same in ranking points as the other, easier t6 maps.  What happens if we add more tiers then? Lets say t1-t10 system - the same thing would happen  over time - there would be the most extreme t10 map, harder than other t10 maps in the map rooster. In the long run this grading system is stopping innovation as to what the hardest jump map is and how to rank map runs in the player rankings.

*open ended scale*
Actually - similar thing happed in climbing/mountaineering between 1920's and 1980's - but let me describe some similarities between jump maps and climbing routes.
Both jump maps and climbing routes require:
* certain skill set (ex. jumping air pogo, ex. climbing one finger pockets)
* some kind of endurance (A- jump map is generally t2, but with one jump rated as t3 or B- maybe all of the jumps are t3 jumps?)
* overall feeling of difficulty for the ascensionist/jumper that completes the run
Both jump maps and climbing routes are basically an obstacle course.