jump.tf Forums
Welcome B)

plateauing for 2 years

sevin · 13 · 2232

sevin

• Frags: +0/-0
    • View Profile
yo

ive been playing tf2 for 3 1/2 years and i started jumping after a few months. i got better over the course of a few more months but after about a year i realized i wasnt getting better. its been 2 years since then. havent gotten any better. there was a time about a year ago where all i did was jump for 4 months straight. jumped for a couple hours every day. didnt get better. took a break and came back. didnt get better. what the hell do i do?

to give you an idea of my skill: i can complete maybe 1-2 of the maps in the medium list stickied in this forum.

Mireal

• Intermediate
    • View Profile
soldier or demo
man cannot ascend with worldly values holding him down

Shunix

• Intermediate
    • Frags: +2/-0
    • View Profile
play more

play maps that are a challenge

if you arent having fun then find something else to spend your time on

« Last Edit: September 04, 2015, 08:50:27 PM by Shunix »

catfoosh

• Proficient
  • brock is a weeb
    • View Profile
keep track of the maps you beat and play progressively harder ones or find a couple maps you really like and go for progressively faster times

TomSinister

• Novice
    • View Profile
What I like to do is grind a maps that are above my skill level for an hour or 2 until I cant jump anymore. The next time I try it, I can get a little bit further into the map until I finally beat it. Sometimes this process takes a few days, sometimes it takes a year. Either way, its a great way to see tangible progress that you are making.

internal

• Novice
    • View Profile
watch demos of tpn runs, watch demos of yourself, pay attention to the damage markers, and dont throw your mouse/aim all over the place focus on it ! and speedrun (even though i hate it and dont do it cause it makes hate the maps where i try it ... it definitely helps with consistency)