jump.tf Forums
Welcome B)

jump_geronimo

Chief · 21 · 4285

Chief

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 19
    • Frags: +0/-0
    • View Profile
T6 soldier map I started for jump jam 2018.

download: https://www.dropbox.com/s/c2sh1vt1q8bs4pb/jump_geronimo.bsp?dl=0

Old versions:

Level descriptions:
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Showcase:
« Last Edit: April 04, 2020, 04:32:43 AM by Chief »


toopliss

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 17
    • Frags: +0/-0
    • View Profile
I'm getting an error in my compile "Material NATURE/BLENDGROUNDTOGRASS007 uses unknown detail object type tf_forest_grass!".
I've read I should be setting my 'detail.vbsp' to 'detail_trainyard.vbsp' and 'detail material' to 'detail/detailsprites_trainyard' in map > map properties,
but when I do that I get an error that stops the compile completely saying "Error! Too many detail props emitted on this map! (64K max!)".

My full compile log:
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Not sure if I need to actually do anything about this though since I haven't noticed anything in game.


It's fine if you don't need grass patches to show up, usually it happens when your displacement is too big or you use too many that has a texture that emits detail sprites. If you want still want grass patches to show up consider using the _reducedetail or the _nodetail variant at spots where it's not really needed.

Also I noticed that your numportal count is really high, you might need to start func detail some stuff as well if you haven't already.

As for reducing file size, turning off collision and physics for displacements that players won't ever touch is a good start, consider repacking as well.


League

  • Intermediate
  • ***
    • Posts: 119
    • Frags: +0/-0
  • say drugs to no, kids
    • View Profile
Map looks great but it's a little too large for me to play. Hopefully you can compress it in the future so I can play this beast
hmm


Starkie

  • Novice
  • **
    • Posts: 61
    • Frags: +1/-0
    • View Profile
5 - it'd be nice if the tele destination set your aim so youre already looking at the first prefire wall, it's pretty hard to see what youre aiming at (if you change the orientation of the destination to the same as the showpos angle, it mimics what you see in-game)

6 - reminds me of that jump on sink that doesn't work on higher ping, you might wanna try it with net fakelag to see if its still possible

9 - you can get really close with a water triple, idk if its possible or not you need to ask your boy hass. still you can telesync a waterquad which is pretty easy. might wanna use phase nonades to stop that

i didnt attempt half the jumps because my brain is too small but i liked the ones i finished


nut

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 9
    • Frags: +0/-0
    • View Profile
map gives me a engine hunk overflow message and crashes my game :(


Starkie

  • Novice
  • **
    • Posts: 61
    • Frags: +1/-0
    • View Profile
need to put r_hunkalloclightmaps 0 in console to get it to work


Chief

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 19
    • Frags: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Updated to a5: https://www.dropbox.com/s/uflea828ix0l0tu/jump_geronimo_a5.bsp?dl=0

added momentum cancelling teles to all the floors
set level 5 tele destination to auto aim on prefire wall
put an anti resync on 9 to stop water triples
detailed 9
repacked this time around (this saved heaps of space, thanks toopliss).
« Last Edit: October 06, 2018, 12:30:48 PM by Chief »


toopliss

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 17
    • Frags: +0/-0
    • View Profile





(Blue lines are representing the splits in visleaves, more visleaves= more compile time. You can see them show up if you successfully compile with vbsp once with no leaks and go to map>Load Portal File on the top bar )

A general rule of thumb for turning stuff into func_detail is that if a brush is slanted or is really just there only for detailing and not there to block visibility it's probably best to func_detail it (There's a lot more that goes into visibility optimization or just map optimization in general, here's a good start. And if you have the time give this a read through too, even if it's for hl2 it's generally the same for tf2).

Of course if it's a brush connecting to the void don't turn it into an entity because that would cause a leak.

I know it doesn't sound like much to cut down on your numportals and if you don't mind having longer compile times, it's fine. But just as a note for the future, appropriate func detailing is important.


John

  • video games
  • Novice
  • **
    • Posts: 89
    • Frags: +421/-69
    • View Profile

Chief

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 19
    • Frags: +0/-0
    • View Profile
ye whoops. Was gonna release a new version once I'd made more substantial changes but oh well. Hopefully this is a lot cleaner

a6: https://www.dropbox.com/s/drdd2a5rui42pek/jump_geronimo_a6.bsp?dl=0


xHappy-

  • Intermediate
  • ***
    • Posts: 133
    • Frags: +0/-0
  • :]
    • View Profile

Chief

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 19
    • Frags: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Updated to a8: https://www.dropbox.com/s/p6xuhunka48zjsq/jump_geronimo_a8.bsp?dl=0

Detailed some more, altered the spacing of level 6, changed the skybox, got rid of dumb colour correction, added a cp at the end of 9 (im still planning on adding a 10th jump), set level 8 tele to auto aim the prefire and added a tele at the top of level 5 to auto aim that prefire.


Chief

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 19
    • Frags: +0/-0
    • View Profile
a17 release: https://www.dropbox.com/s/igz4aejzaodluni/jump_geronimo_a17.bsp?dl=0

added a new jump (3), connectors, a bonus and detailed almost all levels. Level 7 might still need work. Let me know if any levels are easily cheatable pls


Adolf The Toast Jesus?

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 13
    • Frags: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Idk if its just me but i get an engine hunk overflow on a17

Actually now it seems I cant play any version, even those I had already downloaded and tried before, don't think I crashed then.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2019, 11:24:12 AM by Adolf The Toast Jesus? »
JA Support Admin, Lounge Admin


Chief

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 19
    • Frags: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Idk if its just me but i get an engine hunk overflow on a17

Actually now it seems I cant play any version, even those I had already downloaded and tried before, don't think I crashed then.

You'll need to put r_hunkalloclightmaps 0 into your console/autoexec for now. I'll try to fix it eventually